Author Topic: Does anyone know where to find Kirk Session Minutes  (Read 3697 times)

Offline a.steel

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Does anyone know where to find Kirk Session Minutes
« on: Friday 28 October 05 18:17 BST (UK) »
Does anyone know where to find the Kirk Session Minutes for Annan or for Middlebie? 

They are not in the Scottish Record Office and may be held locally.

Any ideas gratefully accepted

Thanks

Margaret
DUMFRIESSHIRE : Beattie, Campbell, Elliot, Johnstons, Johnstone
ROXBURGH or DUMFRIESSHIRE : Balmer, Jackson, Lockie, Walker

Offline Boongie Pam

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Pa is Scottish, Ma is Welsh, Nose is Roamin'
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone know where to find Kirk Session Minutes
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 03 November 05 10:58 GMT (UK) »
They are available next door to the GROS at the National Archive (NAS) Princes St, Edinburgh.

I'm a bit new to the Kirk Sessions but I have viewed some of the early Annan ones (1700s).  Quite hilarious.

It was obviously a new and fairly toothless body of people, they keep calling for so and so to appear and month after month they are ignored.  Hilarious reading.

There are a couple of illegitimacies recorded and selling beer on a Sunday - not much else.  I'm not sure of the exact history but the Annan Kirk Sessions seem to be a sub-body of the Dumfries KS so most of the records just refer to that.

In the NAS the Annan KS are available to view online in the building.  It is free but you need a reader's ticket.  On the same system you can see all the wills for free as well.

I don't know what the plans are to make KS available on the internet?

Cheers,
Pam
 ;D 
UK Census info. Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
~~~~~~~~~~~

Dumfrieshire: Fallen, Fallon, Carruthers, Scott, Farish, Aitchison, Green, Ryecroft, Thomson, Stewart
Midlothian: Linn/d, Aitken, Martin
North Wales: Robins(on), Hughes, Parry, Jones
Cumberland: Lowther, Young, Steward, Miller