Author Topic: Need a miracle i think?? LOL  (Read 6236 times)

Offline Born~N~Bred

• I am sorry but my email are not working
  • RootsChat Extra
  • Mum & Grandad Ashton
    • View Profile
Need a miracle i think?? LOL
« on: Tuesday 31 August 04 16:05 BST (UK) »
Hi @ all, i just wandered into the site and i`m praying someone can give me a little push in the right direction. I`m a total novice at this family history so be gentle with me LOL ... Ok dilemma = I am trying to solve a mystery that no one in the family seem`s to know about. My great grandad was born 1901 and i did get that much confirmed from the birth index, Hmmm?? and then my grandmother mentioned there had been some confusion as to which children belonged to which family after a family tragedy occured.... The problem i have is discovering who my grandfather`s real father was? Both families resided in the same street at the same time from what i can see on the earlier census, then one family disappear`s LOL how can i find out which family my grandfather belonged to??? Any help on this issue will be greatly appreciated as i am rapidly running out of idea`s.. especially now that the parent`s don`t appear on the birth certificate???
If anyone can help my grandfather was John William Hook,
born september 1901,
and from what i`m lead to believe resided at an address in Water Street (once Swan Street) in Atherton, Lancashire.
Ashton, Arkwright, Hook, Mather, Yates, Heaton, Brides, Farrimond, Rigby, Gorse, Warren, Woods Warren, Bachegalup, Croston, Clynes, Wilson, Bacigalupo

Offline Nicky

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Need a miracle i think?? LOL
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 31 August 04 16:32 BST (UK) »
Hi
Seems to be a difficult one, I presume you have a copy of the original birth certificate, that should give you parents names,another idea would be his marriage certificate although if he was adopted into a family he may of course give his adopted fathers name.
Nicky