Author Topic: Rooney's Beware - I'm After You  (Read 5754 times)

Offline Half Pint

• RootsChat Veteran
  • my wonderful mum and dad here in Leicester
    • View Profile
Rooney's Beware - I'm After You
« on: Saturday 24 December 05 21:38 GMT (UK) »
Hi

I'm new to the Irish boards so please be patient with me..........

As this is the festive season and brains stop working (well mine does), does anyone want an easy search!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Inbetween 1854-56 my 3 x gr grandparents James and Elizabeth came over from somewhere in Ireland to Whitehaven (Cumberland).  They brought over with them their two daughters, Leticia and Rosannah Amanda.

James worked as an iron ore miner whilst over here and Elizabeths maiden name appears to be Taylor.

Could anyone please suggest where I start to look for them (polite answers only)  the problem is that their surname is a really rare one - Rooney.

Many thanks for your time.

Little Lil
Now for the really eas
Beds: Chapman, Norris, Nicholls
Cul:  Bone, Casson, Cuppage, Ellwood, Harrington, Harrison, Huddleston, Mawson, McAvoy, Rooney, Sherwen, Singleton, Stephenson, Taylor, Tunstall, Tyson, Wedgwood, Whitehead, Woodall
Herts:  Chapman, Merridan, Seymour
Ire:  Macken, McAvoy, Rooney
Lancs:  Casson, Dixon, Huddleston, Hunter, Muschamp, Skirrow Stephenson, Tyson
Staffs:  Burslem, Tunstall, Wedgwood
Yorks:  Harrison, Lund, Roberts, Swire

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives

Offline Jean McGurn

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone want an easy find over the festive season !!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 25 December 05 06:10 GMT (UK) »
Probably not a great help but just in case you haven't got it, here are details from the 1861 census. Note the spelling of Rooney.

James Roney, Head, 1835, Ireland, Ironworker
Elizabeth Roney, Wife, 1834, Ireland
Leticia Roney, Dau, 18500, Ireland
Rosannah Roney, Dau, 1854, Ireland
Sarah J Roney, Dau, 1856, Egremont Cumberland