Author Topic: STROOD, Kent 1841 Census lookup - DAY  (Read 2599 times)

Offline virgil21

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
STROOD, Kent 1841 Census lookup - DAY
« on: Wednesday 01 March 06 14:21 GMT (UK) »
I have been tyring to trace for many years my wife's ancestor whom family legend has it was:

GEORGE DAY from Gravesend, seaman, lost at sea. He married an Irish girl

ELEANOR YOUNG who may have been working in England.

A thorough search of Marriages, 1840-1850, has so far failed to turn up their marriage, either in England/Wales or Ireland.

In the 1851 Census, I have traced a possible linked family thus:

Day, Elizabeth: Head/Widow, 59, Born, Kent, Strood
Day, Juliana:     Daughter,      29, Born, Kent, Strood
Day, William:     Son,               20, Born, Kent, Rochester
Day, George:    Grandson,      06, Born, Kent, Gravesend.

However, the 6 year-old George Day above in 1851 is too young to be my target.

I have searched the Internet and have found no on-line sources for 1841 Census, Strood, nor any listed on this board.

So, would someone be so kind as to:

check the above DAY family in STROOD in the 1841 Census to see if there was a GEORGE DAY as part of the above family in 1841?

He may have been young enough to be still at home on that date.

I estimate that "my" GEORGE DAY must have been born around 1825 and married around 1845 as his first son Alexander was born in 1847. So in 1841, he should have been under 20 years old, perhaps in his mid-teens.

The Irish DAY family names include: George, William, Julia and Elizabeth - similar to the family names above. The first son, Alexander, was named after his mother Eleanor's father.

Sorry to be long-winded, but I thought it better to give what detail I have rather than being vague about it.

Thank you for listening - Tony.

Offline English Jen

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: STROOD, Kent 1841 Census lookup - DAY