Author Topic: starting a family bible  (Read 12495 times)

Offline sunnyg1rl05

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
starting a family bible
« on: Wednesday 08 March 06 16:12 GMT (UK) »
Hi im new to all this, ive heard of family bibles but never seen one are they blank pages or is it a real bible?  ive asked memebrs of my family if there is one and no one knows how do i go about starting one? and how far back do i go, and what do i put in it,

so many question, sorry just want to do it all correctly.

kaz
warwickshire: blakeman, lines, Taylor, wilcox
somerset, taunton: hallet
shropshire, bridgnorth, cleobury mortimer: foxall, poyner,charles
worcestershire: hardwick, smith
Gloucestershire: Smith, Pearse
monmouth:pontypool, meredith,
Caernarvon: humphreys
denbighshire, evans

Offline old rowley

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • first steps
    • View Profile
Re: starting a family bible
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 08 March 06 17:30 GMT (UK) »
Hi kaz and welcome to rootschat,

Most families would have had a bible sitting on their shelf and would have used it on a regular basis (in some parts of Scotland it was the only thing that could be read on a sunday). These bibles would have been any size, from the pocket or hand held size to the large table bibles that one sees now and again at antique and collector fairs.