Author Topic: HORTON, Hugh  (Read 1762 times)

Offline Ticknall19

• I have chosen not to receive new notifications
  • RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
HORTON, Hugh
« on: Sunday 14 May 06 18:43 BST (UK) »
 >:(
I have been trying to trace Hugh Horton born 1867 in Topcliffe N. Yorks for some time.  He appears on 1881 census at 4 Oxford Street, Darlington, with mother and elder brother, Fred/Frederick.  He then disappears totally.  No trace in 1891 or 1901 census.  No mention BDM between 1881 and 1901 (!) 
His father, who was a stone-mason by trade was born Thomas Orton in 1821 in Ampleforth North Riding of Yorkshire.  He died in 1876 at his son's home - Son was George Horton of 87 Gurney Street, Darlington.
Have family tree back to 1720, but this 'brick wall' is bugging me, totally. Has anyone come across the family, and particularly Hugh, at all?
Ticknall19

Offline angiross

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: HORTON, Hugh
« Reply #1 on: Friday 21 July 06 08:28 BST (UK) »
hi there. i noticed you r posting

might sound silly but have you looked at all variations of spellings of the name? i have Houghtons in my family from lancashire but have found the spellings to vary a lot. haughton, Horton , houghton, hutton, oughton ertc.
Just a thought
cheers
angi

Offline Blake tree

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 21 February 11 12:07 GMT (UK) »