Author Topic: Dougan in Old Monklands  (Read 2201 times)

Offline Steven_G_Dougan

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Dougan in Old Monklands
« on: Sunday 13 August 06 13:42 BST (UK) »
Hi,
I am Steven Gerard Dougan, born in Parkhead Glasgow, married Ursula Knuepfer 12.04.1976. I am a Surveyor living and working in germany
My Father was John Thomas Dougan, born 14.03.1933 in Shettleston Glasgow, married Elizabeth Deeprose 06.06.1953, died 12.09.1993 the first non-miner(Painter).
His Father was John Thomas Dougan, born 14.12.1905 married Rosina Tracy 27.10.1927, died 28.04.1982; Coalminer.
His Father was John Thomas Dougan, born 03.06.1886 married Sarah Finnie 21.12.1903 d.o.d. unknown; Coalminer.
His Father was John Dougan, born 15.06.1865, married Mary Ward 31.12.1884, d.o.d. unknown; Coalminer.
His Father was James Dougan, d.o.b. unknown, married Mary Evers or Evens date unkown, d.o.d. unknown; Stoker on a Steamship.
All Coalminers were probably in Old Monklands employed, as that is where they lived, oldest known adress was that of John and Mary, and Birthplace of the first John Thomas as being 29 Porch Row, Cuillhill Heatheryknowe. My Father and Grandfather lived in Shettleston. I am now stuck and would like to know if anyone can help me.
In the 1881 Census there was a John Dougan married to Sarah Jane living at 27 Porch Row, but I have no indication to who they were.
Were James Dougan and his son John Dougan Irish? if so how can I find out?
I would be gratefull for any help or advice.
As I live in Germany I dont have access to the local Libraries, I have just about exhausted the Onlineservices of Scotlandspeople, but with no further results.
Thankyou all in advance

Steven Dougan
Dougan,Mitchell

Offline NellW

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Dougan in Old Monklands
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 13 August 06 13:55 BST (UK) »