Author Topic: Mysterious Minnie Dowdeswell  (Read 1355 times)

Offline Garethboxing

• --
  • RootsChat Veteran
  • Grampy Wyndham Jones (Wales v Ireland 1905)
    • View Profile
Mysterious Minnie Dowdeswell
« on: Tuesday 12 September 06 15:42 BST (UK) »
Minnie appears in the 1881 Census as a 13-yr-old boarder at Great House Ladies' School in Cowbridge. She is listed as born at Nelson, which suggests a link with my Dowdeswells, some of whom lived there or thereabouts, but I have no knowledge of her. Can anyone tell me who her parents were?
   Thanks, Gareth
Scott, Dowdeswell (Merthyr Tydfil), Jones (Loughor and Merthyr Vale), Roberts (Nelson), Prichard (Collenna and Cefn Fforest); Evan Roberts (Corwen and Amlwch); Scott (Pentre); Scott (Ancrum); Thomas (Pantywaun and Bedlinog); Morgan Jones (Ystradfellte); Bowen (Loughor); Jenkins (Bridgend); Thomas Dowdeswell (b. Gloucester, 1829).

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline alcrighton

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Mysterious Minnie Dowdeswell
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 12 September 06 17:23 BST (UK) »
Hi Gareth,

Could Minnie have been a pet name for Caroline?

1871 Census, Llanfabon, Glamorganshire RG10/5376 Folio 29 Page 15
Address: Shinsig?

Thomas DOWDESWELL, Head, 39, Platelayer on Railway, b. Gloucester
Mary Ann ditto, Wife, 29, b. Llanfabon
Thomas ditto, Son, 13,  Scholar, b. Pontypool
Margaret Helen ditto, Daur, 5, Scholar, b. Llanfabon
Caroline ditto, Daur, 3, Scholar, b. Llanfabon
Jessie ditto, Daur, 1, b. Llanfabon

According to the following link, Nelson is/was part of the parish of Llanfabon:

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/wal/GLA/Llanfabon/#Maps

Regards,

Al
Crighton, Dundee & London<br />Woodgates, Bath, Devon & London<br />Curtis, Nottinghamshire & Islington<br />Maker, Cornwall & London<br /><br />Census information is Crown Copyright http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Garethboxing

• --
  • RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile