Author Topic: Carping  (Read 712 times)

Offline suttontrust

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Carping
« on: Thursday 14 September 06 19:35 BST (UK) »
 >:( I'm complaining again - nothing new there.  And I'm not carping about anyone on Rootschat.  But I find now that when I contact someone who reckons to have genealogical information, they always assume that they're talking to a complete novice and give me a lecture on how to use sources etc.  That might have been appropriate once, but there are more and more of us who have some experience and knowledge.  And we feel patronised.  Okay, I'm grateful for the information if I get it, but we all ought to be a bit more careful about the assumptions we make.
Godden in East Sussex, mainly Hastings area.
Richards in Lea, Gloucestershire, then London.
Williamson in Leith, Vickers in Nottingham.
Webb in Bildeston and Colchester.
Wesbroom in Kirby le Soken.
Ellington in Harwich.
Park, Palmer, Segar and Peartree in Kersey.

Offline philipsearching

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • I was a beautiful baby - what went wrong?
    • View Profile
Re: Carping
« Reply #1 on: Friday 15 September 06 13:52 BST (UK) »
Hallo, Suttontrust

If a contact starts off with wrong assumptions it can be difficult to correct them without causing friction.  Obviously it would be better all round to get things off to a good start.  Maybe when you contact someone you could begin by briefly giving your  credentials - how much research you have already done and where the gap is.  This would show that you know what you are doing.

I admit this advice is a case of "do as I say, not as I do" - I am guilty of making assumptions both as seeker and provider and I am still learning from my (many!) mistakes.

Good luck
Philip
Please help me to help you by citing sources for information.

Census information is Crown Copyright http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline wheeldon

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile