Author Topic: 1901 Census - lost pages?  (Read 3447 times)

Offline Sass

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
1901 Census - lost pages?
« on: Wednesday 11 October 06 23:28 BST (UK) »
Would be grateful for any help.
I am really struggling to find details about my great grandmother, Margaret Ann Price. 
Have searched online on various different sites (NatArchives, Ancestry, 1837) for a particular address in Merthyr but all say it doesn't exist.
The address is 14 Ynisgau, Merthyr Tydfill.  I have even tried paging through all the census images around Ynisgau but this 'end' of the street seems to be missing? 
We have various family documents with this address on, including great grandparents marriage certificate in 1911.  My grandmother was born there in 1920 and she was told her mother was born there too (c1892 - although I cannot trace her birth certificate either).
I am not a novice at family history (although all previous experience is in England) but this lady is proving very elusive - does anyone have any ideas?
Davenport, Wolverhampton Staffs
Dyhouse, Staffs
Hewitt, Warks
Hadley, Worcs/Staffs
Lowe, Worcs/Staffs
Arch, Lincs
Taylor, Worcs/Staffs; Oxon
Price, Glamorgan

Offline nanny jan

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Russian John
    • View Profile
Re: 1901 Census - lost pages?
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 11 October 06 23:49 BST (UK) »
Could the street have been re-named or re-numbered?  It took me some time to find the stret in London where my grandpa was born because the name had been changed !Perhaps the local authority or local history society might be able to help you with the address.

Nanny Jan
Howard , Viney , Kingsman, Pain/e, Rainer/ Rayner, Barham, George, Wakeling (Catherine), Vicary (Frederick)   all LDN area/suburbs  Ottley/ MDX,
Henman/ KNT   Gandy/LDN before 1830  Burgess/LDN
Barham/SFK   Rainer/CAN (Toronto) Gillians/CAN  Sturgeon/CAN (Vancouver)