Author Topic: Suggestions??--Birth Locations in General  (Read 880 times)

Offline m a r g e

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Suggestions??--Birth Locations in General
« on: Sunday 12 November 06 00:54 GMT (UK) »
I am looking for suggestions as to where do I look next ---I'm looking for a birth location for my great-grandfather.  His death cert. does not have a birthplace on it, so I can't apply for his birth cert.  and honestly know that the one I receive is for HIM --there are a lot of John Roches out there.  I know his father was also John Roche, but don't know his mother's name.  That is another problem.  He died before 1901 --1886 in fact, so he's not on "that" census.  No family members have any knowledge of his birthplace.  He was a tailor in Cork City, but to this point, I have no knowledge of his owning his own shop.  What do you suggest??  Thank you    Marge

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Suggestions??--Birth Locations in General
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 12 November 06 10:01 GMT (UK) »
Marge- any idea when he was born?
Registration of births, and deaths, started in 1864 so if he was born before then you need to look for a baptism (even harder to find than civil registration unless you know the church).
1901 census will only give county of birth, except in a few cases where information incorrectly filled out to give townland or city. Can you find where any siblings were born and work from there?
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline m a r g e

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 12 November 06 15:06 GMT (UK) »