Author Topic: Marriage Cert  (Read 2461 times)

Offline foggyjano

• RootsChat Senior
  • 5th Generation - Noah Thomas 1874
    • View Profile
Marriage Cert
« on: Monday 11 December 06 13:56 GMT (UK) »
On Family Search I have found Lucy Thomas marrying William Thomas in 1862. Her Fathers Name was Joseph Pearson.. therefore i think these are my relatives..however why would she marry in the name of Thomas?  I can only find Lucy Pearson marrying Samuel Thomas in Sept 1858 Wolves.

Question 1: I have found a Samuel thomas who was born in 1832 but he died 1837.  do you think this could a wrong date and he actually died later than this, which means Lucy could then of married his younger brother William in 1862.

Question 2 :Where would i apply for both of these marriage certs from?

Sorry I am new to all this and it is frustrating me cos of the dates and names differences

Foggyjano
Thomas
Pearson 
Schofield
Stanton
Davies
Wallwork
Winnard
Evans
Saunders
Berry

Welsh in laws
Smith in laws
Moar In Laws
Calverley In Laws
Bonds In Laws,

Offline Tati

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Ephraim's daughter to infinity & beyond
    • View Profile
Re: Marriage Cert
« Reply #1 on: Monday 11 December 06 14:03 GMT (UK) »
Hi Foggyjano,

Was the marriage in or around West Bromwich ?

I can this on the GRO index
Marriages Sep 1862
Lucy Thomas  - William Thomas
West Bromwich registration district
Volume 6b  page 783

With this reference, you can order the cert online:
http://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/

Tanja  :)
 "My dear, I think the English pronounce it 'appiness"  

I'm afraid of no ghost

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline sillgen

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 11 December 06 14:17 GMT (UK) »
Hi