Author Topic: Would Appreciate Some Help - LANE  (Read 4612 times)

Offline Caddi43

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Would Appreciate Some Help - LANE
« on: Monday 18 December 06 13:46 GMT (UK) »
Hi
I'm pretty new to genealogy and although I have got quite a few ancestors this one has got me stumped. :-[

I am looking for a WILLIAM LANE my Great Great Grandfather born 1816 in Goodrich Herefordshire.
I have all his children from the census but I can find his wife's Maiden Name her name was Mary b 1821
Their children were
Henry   b 1849
Joseph b  1851
Allen     b  1854
Ann      b  1859
Lydia    b   1862
James   b   1864
Thomas b   1869 (My Grandfather)
They moved to Joyford Gloucestershire after Allen was born

I would really appreciate any help. I am in Australia so not easy for me to get records etc.

Thank You
Have a great Christmas everyone

Regards
Jackiehttp://http://

Offline Arranroots

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Would appreciate some help
« Reply #1 on: Monday 18 December 06 13:49 GMT (UK) »
Hello Jackie

Welcome to Rootschat!  :)

As all the children were born after the start of civil registration in 1837 the purchase of any of their birth certificates would give you their mother's maiden name.

You can search on Ancestry free at the moment: http://www.ancestry.co.uk/search/rectype/vital/freebmd/bmd.aspx

kind regards, Arranroots  ;)
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
SOM: BIRD, BURT aka BROWN - HEF: BAUGH, LATHAM, CARTER, PRITCHARD - GLS: WEBB, WORKMAN, LATHAM, MALPUS - WIL: WEBB, SALTER - RAD: PRITCHARD, WILLIAMS - GLA: RYAN, KEARNEY, JONES, HARRY - MON: WEBB, MORGAN, WILLIAMS, JONES, BIRD - SCOTLAND: HASTINGS, CAMERON, KELSO, BUCHANAN, BETHUNE/ BEATON - IRELAND: RYAN (WATERFORD), KEARNEY (DUBLIN), BOYLE(DUNDALK)

Offline Arranroots

• RootsChat Honorary