Author Topic: Moores of Wilts. & West Ham  (Read 981 times)

Offline arty

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Moores of Wilts. & West Ham
« on: Sunday 14 January 07 02:51 GMT (UK) »
My first foray on the Forum ! An absolute newbie ! Have been reading all your postings and hoping someone out there can help!
Have been searching for months for birth and parental info of my g-grandfather Joseph Moore,born Wilts (don't know exactly where) about 1823-1827. Census records show that he spent most of his life in Islington (Middx),worked as a labourer as did his father and married for the second time,a Sarah (could be Chadwick) on May 28 1871. Sarah was left with 6 or 7 children when Joseph died in West Ham in 1898. The 1861 census shows a Joseph in the Royal Navy and as he wasn't with his wife and children then, I'm wondering if it is 'him'? The RN would have all his details for sure but with my inexperience (and age!!), I am finding it hard to navigate the RN records. Joe's marriage certificate shows that his father was a 'John' but nowhere in Wilts can I find a Joseph born with a father named John,consequently,I cannot trace the family back any further. Can somebody help a first timer ?I dare say this could be the first of many 'brickwalls' !!
Rootschat could be my saviour !
             Many thanks in anticipation,
                           Arty ::)
Moore.  Wilts, Islington
Burles.  Woolwich, East End
Canham.  East End
Norton  Devon, East End
Albra  East End

Offline Cazay

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Moores of Wilts. & West Ham
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 14 January 07 10:41 GMT (UK) »
Hi Arty  ;D  Welcome to Rootschat   :D

Have found a Joseph Moore in 1841 Warminster Wiltshire which might be the Joseph in 1861 in the RN but parents are Richard and Elizabeth.

Do you know where he was living in 1841? Wiltshire or Islington?

Cazay