Author Topic: Marriage Lookup please . Hardy 1891-1895 My major brickwall !!  (Read 1809 times)

Offline JeannieR

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Me with eldest grandson Nick, now 23
    • View Profile
Marriage Lookup please . Hardy 1891-1895 My major brickwall !!
« on: Wednesday 31 January 07 22:35 GMT (UK) »
Hi There.........

As you can see , I am not a beginner , but this is certainly my major brickwall.......cannot make a start on my grandfathers family at all...........

On the 1901 census living at 23 , York Road , Shirley , Southampton

are:-

Albert Hardy/ 30 / Manager in mineral water factory / born Freemantle

Caroline J Hardy / 29 / born Canterbury
Ethel A Hardy / 5 / born Surrey
Albert C Hardy / 4 / born Surrey

Both childrens births were registered at St Saviour , Southwark
I understand their mothers maiden name was Knell or Nell

On the 1891 census , both Caroline and Albert E Hardy are single servants in Hampshire........

I really need to prove that they actually married . I feel certain this man is my grandfather , but on the 1915 marriage certificate to my grandmother , he states he is a batchelor , aged 44 . His father was also called Albert Edward Hardy ........

I am beginning to feel he was a bigamist . I have found Caroline Hardy's death in 1919 and my grandad died in 1923 aged 52

Any opinions , suggestions , really welcome , as this is the only part of my family tree , I really can't fathom

Many Thanks

JeannieR

This information is Crown Copyright, from www.national archives.gov.uk

Offline lizdb

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Marriage Lookup please . Hardy 1891-1895 My major brickwall !!
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 01 February 07 11:54 GMT (UK) »
A few thoughts that may or may not be of any help.