Author Topic: Help with PAYNE and JELLY  (Read 1042 times)

Offline siskin

• RootsChat Extra
  • 1911-2001
    • View Profile
Help with PAYNE and JELLY
« on: Monday 05 March 07 16:51 GMT (UK) »
I am new to RootsChat and hope that one of the experts here may be able to help me.

I have a THOMAS PAYNE in my tree. He was born between 1812 and 1816 at West Hoathly in Sussex, according to the census returns.

On his marriage certificate it states that he married HARRIETT HUMPHREY on 8th May 1841 at The Parish Church Horne Surrey.

His father is named as CHARLIE JELLY.

Is there any way that I can check out his Father, or find any more information,
I have looked on Familysearch.org but with no luck.

The 1841 census was taken after he married and he is living with his in-laws.

I should be very grateful for any help or suggestions.

Thank you,
I-Spy.

Offline sillgen

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Help with PAYNE and JELLY
« Reply #1 on: Monday 05 March 07 17:33 GMT (UK) »
Welcome to rootschat.  Can we assume that he was illegitimate if his name is Payne but his father was Charlie Jelly?
I have looked on the Sussex Marriage Index and there is no entry for a Charles Jelly though there are various other Jelly entries.
Can you quote a census reference for 1841.  I cannot find him at the moment.  Ah, got him in Surrey now.   As a general rule the more information you can give in a post the better.   If we know what you have already done it saves duplication.
West Hoathly registers should be on the IGI at that time so if he is not there then you need to widen the search a bit.    If he was illegitimate he may have been baptised away from his mother's home village.
His age is fairly constant on the later census so it would appear he was born c1816.    Do you have his death certificate?  Harriet is a widow by 1871 but with a child aged 5 so that narrows it down.