Author Topic: Help with Family name - HACKNEY  (Read 6555 times)

Offline silver1

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help with Family name - HACKNEY
« on: Wednesday 09 May 07 01:50 BST (UK) »
Hi, I'm new to this so bear with me. My grandfather was JOSEPH VICTOR HACKNEY 1916, birth entry  was mothers maiden name Hackney (caroline) so I thought it must be illegitimate birth, but then when he marries ELSIE BOOTH (1918) in1934 the marriage certificate states  father as Joe Hackney - deceased???(also my grandfather calls himself Joe on the marriage cert instead of Joseph Victor??? ???
His mother Caroline must have married later to someone called Chadwick(death announcement). Possibly he had a sister called Olive and maybe a brother.
 ???
Also my grandmother Elsie is a bigger mystery as I only have small birth cert, so no idea of mother or father. But birth is listed with Booth as maiden name of mother so again maybe illegitimate birth. But as for where to go from there??? I would appreciate any help in the right direction Thankyou ;)

Offline sillgen

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Family name - HACKNEY
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 09 May 07 09:11 BST (UK) »
Hi