Author Topic: DOBSON,ADAM Musselburgh Midlothian  (Read 2077 times)

Offline ajjbc

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
DOBSON,ADAM Musselburgh Midlothian
« on: Friday 01 June 07 05:31 BST (UK) »
I am seeking info on ADAM DOBSON.I believe he was born 1875.
I found him on the 1891 census in Hawick,Rox living with his grandparents.
Then I find him in 1896 married in Inveresk ,Musselburgh to a JANET CORMACK
Then I find him in the 1901 census of Inveresk, Musselburgh age 26,Baker by trade ,living at 36 Bridge Street.
He was with his wife Janet age 25 and it appears his 1st child JANETTA DOBSON age 3.
I would dearly love to find more on this family and any descendants.
Are there any DOBSON left in Musselburgh?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Many thanks in advance.!!
IRELAND: Algeo,Armstrong,Brick, ,Hendren/Hendron,Hopkins,Ramage,   SCOTLAND:Ashcroft, Aitchison,Armstrong,Bathgate,Blair,Bruce,Brunton,Clarke/Clerk,Crozier, Dickson,Dobson,Dryden,Eaton,Forbis,Gillie/Gillies, Haliburton, Henderson,Higgins,Hogg,Huggan,Hunter,Hutton,Kersel,Kidd/Kyd,Laidlaw,Heugh,Matson,McLuckie,Marchbank,Miller,Notman,Peacock, Prentice,Redpath,Richardson,Roger Riddell,Ruthven,Scobbie,Simson, Spiers/Speirs,Spottiswood,Tinline, Thorburn,Thomson,Turnbull,Waddel,Waldie ,Waugh.Younger

Offline MonicaL

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Girl with firewood, Morar 1910 - MEM Donaldson
    • View Profile
Re: DOBSON,ADAM Musselburgh Midlothian
« Reply #1 on: Friday 01 June 07 13:19 BST (UK) »
Hi ajjbc

Just as background, I wonder if Adam's birth was illegitimate (?). He shows in 1881 with his grandparents under Waldie:

Adam Waldie    6, grandson, b. Hawick
Elizabeth K Waldie 57, b. Hawick
Robert Waldie    54, Woollen Frame Work Knitter, b. Hawick
Robert Waldie    25, son, Hosiery Warehouseman, b. Hawick

Address: 6 Round Close, Hawick

There is also a birth entry showing in Hawick for an Adam Waldie in 1875 on Scotlands People.

Regards.

Monica