Author Topic: looking up marriages on familysearch  (Read 3202 times)

Offline ali607

• RootsChat Veteran
  • GG Grandad John Collier 'The Contratenor Singer'
    • View Profile
looking up marriages on familysearch
« on: Thursday 09 December 04 14:32 GMT (UK) »
Hi im pretty new to this game and have a question:

I have used familysearch.org and have found loads and loads of my ancestors back to 1700s but now im trying to find details of marriages and maiden names etc. I have a couple that were married after 1881 but before 1901 and i dont know where to search for the marriage...
Someone's just told me you can look marriages up on familysearch and that it doesnt end at 1881 at all - do you go to 'All Resources' on familysearch and then choose marriage from event? Cos ive looked up a few marriages in that way - ones in the 20th century and that one between 1881 and 1901 (ones that i know the exact date of) - to see if it does include marriages after 1881 and nothing comes up for any of them....am i doing something wrong?
Thanks
Alison
Surname interests:<br />Salter, Fulford, Woodcock, Finney, Tissington, Driscoll, Shea, Maxfield, Collier, Hughes, Williams, Petty, Pearson, Prescott, Baldwin, <br /><br />Area interests:<br />West Riding Yorkshire: Rotherham, Hemsworth, Darfield, Sheffield<br />Worcestershire/Staffordshire: Oldbury, West Bromwich, Halesowen, White Heath<br />Lancashire: Wigan, Aspull, <br />Nottinghamshire: Worksop<br />erbyshire:alfreton, ironville, codnor

Offline casalguidi

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: looking up marriages on familysearch
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 09 December 04 14:47 GMT (UK) »
Hi Alison

Family search is the site of the Latter Day Saints (Mormons) who have transcribed many church registers and made them available to the public.  There are also records on there that have been submitted by private individuals (like you or me).