Author Topic: Etiquette and Ethics of Genealogy  (Read 4135 times)

Offline scottcharles

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Etiquette and Ethics of Genealogy
« on: Thursday 02 August 07 19:25 BST (UK) »
I'm still quite new to all of this and I was wondering if you could all give me some input about your views regarding the ethics and etiquette of genealogy - particularly considering living distant relatives etc. I'm asking because I seemed to make a bit of a mistake with somebody recently and I don't want it to happen again (nobody who I've been looking for recently, a cousin who I came into contact with about 6 months ago)!

I've come into contact with quite a few distant cousins of mine and other than a bit of general chit-chat, haven't really known how to go about things. As the number of family members I'm in contact with is quite small I would like to branch out a bit. Has anybody successfully founded a relationship (friendship) with family that they've found through their research?

And what about shared research and putting cousins into contact with other cousins? Is there a particular etiquette to sharing research? Personally I'm not too bothered whether people share my work if it's relevant to them, for instance if they're a cousin of mine. As long as it's not distorted or plagiarised it doesn't matter to me.

...Just wondering! Sorry if it's random!

BARTLETT - Plymouth, Devon
BIRD - Wiltshire, Somerset
BISHOP - Somerset
DESBOROUGH - Surrey?
EMERY - Bedfordshire
HALL - Walworth
HARDISTY - Leeds, Yorkshire
HAYWARD - Southwark, Surrey
LEDAMUN - Spitalfields, Middlesex
MONTAGUE - Bethnal Green, Middlesex
MYNN - Goudhurst, Kent
REYNELL - Newington Surrey
REYNOLDS - Soho, Middlesex
WREN - Midlothian, Scotland, Camberwell

Offline mitchell

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Etiquette and Ethics of Genealogy
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 02 August 07 21:49 BST (UK) »