Author Topic: Please can you help with my GREIG family ?!  (Read 19146 times)

Offline vhmsf1

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Please can you help with my GREIG family ?!
« on: Monday 20 August 07 18:06 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone, 

I'm new to this Chatroom so please forgive me if I get this post all wrong!

I am desperately seeking information on my Gt. Gt. Grandfather James Grieg of Kinneff & Catterline.  I have record he married married Susan Philip on 24/12/1843 in Kinneff and Catterline and was a Ploughman.  I CANNOT find either his Birth Certificate nor that of his wife Susan.   :'(

Now... I THINK that Susan may have been his second wife, as in the 1851 Census at Kinneff, there is a record of a Susan Grieg named as 'head of household' and there is a child, Mary Greig, listed as 'Step Daughter', so I'm assuming that her husband James (who is obviously deceased at this time.  Though is anything EVER obvious in this Family History search!) was married before, his wife died (in giving birth to Mary?) and he subsequently married Susan. Then HE died!

He and Susan had a child James, who eventually married Mary Mowat (or Mouet) and I cannot for the life of me find HIS Birth Certificate either!!  When this James married Mary Mowet, his place of residence was listed as Plashettes Colliery, Fallstone, Northumberland and I'm wondering if James Sr. was in England when James Jr was born? 

ANYWAY, if anyone can help me find more about these family members of mine, I'd be SO GRATEFUL!!!  :)

Many thanks,
Kate.

Offline forthefamily

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: PLEASE CAN YOU HELP With my GREIG FAMILY?!
« Reply #1 on: Monday 20 August 07 19:10 BST (UK) »
On LDS I see a James Greig - christening 20/Aug/1797 at Beholm Kincardine (parents James Greig and Susan Ross)

Kinnef is halfway between Beholm and Catterline and they may have taken him to Beholm to be christened. Just a thought ;D