Author Topic: Death in Gravesend  (Read 2998 times)

Offline mordecai

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Death in Gravesend
« on: Saturday 15 September 07 22:53 BST (UK) »
 Hi I am new to Roots web although I have been doing geneolagy for 8 years now. I have one relative who has caused me a lot of searching and trouble. She was born c 1834 in Milton,Kent -one Sarah Dartnell/Dartnail to Thomas Fisher Dartnell and Elizabeth Ann Hands. She was christened at Chalk Church, with the mother a widow in 1841 and 1851 Census, married Samuel Coffee in 1851 at Chalk Church and with him in census 1861 and 1871. Samuel dies and she remarries W H Draper in 1880 and I cannot find any sign of them in the 1881 Census, she would have still had young children with her. I have  searched the area where other families lived street by street but no luck . In 1891 she shows up in Northfleet now as Sarah Draper  with 3 of her sons. In 1901 she is living with just one son in Northfleet now as Sarah Coffee. Her given census age never jives with her birth date but hey shes a woman!  Then I cannot find any record of her death either as Dartnell/Coffee/Draper. Any one got any suggestions? I would like to hear from you. She was my GGGrandmother
Winstanley.Axon.Domakin.Booth.Hulme.Knowles.Battye.Moss.Duxbury- Lancs, Cheshire,Derbyshire.

Ham- Somerset; Popplestone-Devon;Coffee,Denney,Dartnell-Kent: Mason -Gloucs,Robson -London

Offline casalguidi

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Death in Gravesend
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 16 September 07 07:50 BST (UK) »
Hi Mordecai

Welcome to Rootschat

Freebmd isn't complete but there is a death showing in the Strood registration district (covers Northfleet at that time) for a Sarah DRAPER December quarter 1917 age 84 ref. 2a 811 ???

http://freebmd.rootsweb.com