Author Topic: 1881 census look up - M(a)clean, N Uist  (Read 4861 times)

Offline McVitie

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
1881 census look up - M(a)clean, N Uist
« on: Tuesday 18 December 07 12:10 GMT (UK) »
Hello to you,

I'd be most grateful to anyone who could look up the North Uist 1881 census, for my great grnaddad, Alexander Maclean (born NU 1845). His wife Catherine MacCuish (b 1846, from Vallay), is shown at their Hougharry croft with their son John 3, but no sign of her husband Alexander.

He was a plasterer by trade and may well have been working somewhere else on the island(s).

Kind regards :)

Mcvitie

Kennedys (Skye), MacIntyres (Skye), Macleans (South/North Uist), Macdonalds (Skye/South/North Uist), MacKinnons (Skye), MacInnes (Small Isles), Macraes (Kintail/Harris), Morrisons (Kintail), Buchanans (Skye), Maclures (Skye)

Offline RJ_Paton

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Cuimhnichibh air na daoine bho'n d'thainig sibh
    • View Profile
Re: 1881 census look up - M(a)clean, N Uist
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 18 December 07 12:37 GMT (UK) »
There is a 33 yr old Alexander maclean listed as a visitor to the home of John Morrison aged 78 and his family in the 1881 census for North uist

Offline McVitie

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 18 December 07 14:40 GMT (UK) »
Hi Falkryn

Could well be him - does the census data happen to mention which parish of NU he was visiting?

Many thanks

Mcvitie
Kennedys (Skye), MacIntyres (Skye), Macleans (South/North Uist), Macdonalds (Skye/South/North Uist), MacKinnons (Skye), MacInnes (Small Isles), Macraes (Kintail/Harris), Morrisons (Kintail), Buchanans (Skye), Maclures (Skye)

Offline RJ_Paton

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Cuimhnichibh air na daoine bho'n d'thainig sibh
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday 18 December 07 14:49 GMT (UK) »
Trumisgarry