Author Topic: William Francis Roberts  (Read 2684 times)

Offline kwr

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
William Francis Roberts
« on: Wednesday 07 May 08 14:22 BST (UK) »
He emigrated to South Africa in the late 1940s with his wife Alice. I think he lived in Cape Town for a while then moved to a place called Germiston. By trade he was an electrician. In the early Fifties his granddaughter, named Margaret, joined him. I'm not sure if she went under the name of Roberts or Cairns. She married an Afrikaaner (is that how it is spelt?)in the mid 1950s.

My grandfather stayed in S.Africa until I think 1961 and then returned to Bootle, Lancashire.

I have a number of pictures of him in the FWW but there is nothing to identify where. However it looks very hot! I am wondering if he served in S.Africa and that was why, once the SWW was over he emigrated. It might be that he was sent there for convalescence as there are two or three pictures of him with other patients - again somewhere hot  This is as much as I know of him between the early Thirties and 1961. I wonder if anyone can suggest where and what I should look for.

Ken
Cuthbert, Roberts (Sefton. Bootle, Liverpool, St. Pancras), Burbage, Dodd.
Allison (Scotland, pre 1861) (Liverpool post 1860),
Gerrat, Davidson, Caffey, McCourt, McDill, Ireland +Scotland. Ballard, Mayman,
 Pletts, Shield, Pattison, Patteson, Johnston(Cumberland).
Thorp(e), Jacobson, Bond, Parry, Gaskill (Liverpool, Denmark), Moar, Hanaeus,Ilett
Simmons, Pritchard, Cherrington (Shropshire)

Offline EmPea

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: William Francis Roberts
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 07 May 08 16:25 BST (UK) »
Hi Ken

Perhaps if you post the pics of him in his uniform on this board or the Armed Forces board, someone may recognise the uniform.

Any ideas of Margaret's husband's name?

Moira
South Africa - Wessels/Vorster
South Africa - Behr/Toerien
South Africa - Pnematicatos/Chimato