Author Topic: IMPORTANT - if your Windows XP updates automatically...  (Read 7016 times)

Offline Nick29

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
IMPORTANT - if your Windows XP updates automatically...
« on: Tuesday 08 July 08 12:46 BST (UK) »
If you have Windows XP, and your PC is set to download and install updates automatically, you will very soon be downloading Service Pack 3, which has caused major problems on many computers, including mine, where it caused the monitor to go into power-down mode when Windows was starting, and never came back on again.  I've been working with PC's since the early 1980's, and it took me 6 hours to resolve it !

Please note that if you don't want Service Pack 3 to install automatically, and your PC is set to receive Windows updates automatically, it is up to you to stop it.  There are some notes on this site which tell you how to do this.  Please note that this is not my site (it's a different "Nick"), so I can't answer any queries raised about this site.

If you don't want Service Pack 3, at the very least you need to change your settings, so that you can review updates before installing them.

RIP 1949-10th January 2013

Best Wishes,  Nick.

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline pjbuk007

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: IMPORTANT - if your Windows XP updates automatically...
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 08 July 08 19:58 BST (UK) »
My SP3 was downloaded at the beginning of May.  Some people have had problems, but I and many others have not.  I suspect most people who have automatic updates already have SP3 by now.

It caused problems with some processors (AMD athlone, I think).
BENNET(T); NRY- Brotton, CON
BURTON; NRY- Saltburn, Guisborough, Marske, Stokesley
Judge Newark Lincoln BURTON , USA
DALES; NRY- Brotton, LIN - Orby
DAVIES
GEORGE: GLA - Oystermouth & Penarth, CON