Author Topic: Wilson/McNeill - Coleraine  (Read 8705 times)

Offline Tillymum

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Wilson/McNeill - Coleraine
« on: Thursday 21 August 08 21:01 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone - I'm new to this, so hope I've posted in the right place. Looking for information about the Wilsons. My g.grandfather was John Wilson born c.1864 (deduced from marriage cert. - states he was full age). He married Elizabeth (Lizzie) McNeill on 23 March 1889 at Terrace Row Third Presbyterian Church, Coleraine. It states on the certificate that he was a widower and that his fathers name was Alex. I would like to find out how many children they had. I know for sure they had 3 boys - Danny,David (my grandad) and Robert, but there has always been talk in the family of another child who was sent away to Canada.My mother said it was all hushed up and no-one ever talked about it. Now could this other child have been from John Wilsons first marriage or is he just a rumour. Any help with the Wilsons or McNeills would be greatly appreciated.
Coleraine and Portrush - Wilson, McNeill, Stewart

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Wilson/McNeill - Coleraine
« Reply #1 on: Friday 22 August 08 13:59 BST (UK) »
I had a look on Griffiths Valuation for Wilsons in Coleraine and there about 10, including

occupier : WILSON   ALEXANDER   
lessor : MCDONNELL JOHN
county: LONDONDERRY   
parish : COLERAINE   
townland : COLERAINE & SUBURBS (PART OF)
sub-division 1 :    BACK LANE (OFF STONE ROW, UPPER)

the date for this entry is 1859. Let me know if you want any more details.