Author Topic: Ancestry John Jones & Jane Foulkes from Denbighshire  (Read 6876 times)

Offline Cajondy

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Ancestry John Jones & Jane Foulkes from Denbighshire
« on: Monday 29 September 08 02:04 BST (UK) »
Hello there
this is my first time on here - so please forgive any "novice" errors!

I've been searching for my Grandparents - John and Jane (nee Foulkes) Jones and any ancestral information anyone reding this can provide is hugely appreciated

So far - from family members and census records I've managed to gather a little information, but have now reached a brick wall and would appreciate any assistance anyone can give.

John Jones and Jane Foulkes were married in 1901 in Llanynys - thier father names being John Jones and Evan Foulkes respectively.

I beleive shortly after thier marriage they moved to Bangor and went on to have a typically large family (for those days!), however it's pre thier marriage details I seem to be strguggling hard with

I know John and Jane were buried in Llanhaiadr, and beleive John's parent John and Ann (don't know her maiden name) were also buried there - along with some of their children in later days

I beleive Evan Foulkes and his wife Ellen may also have been buried in Llanhaiadr, though I have nothing to support this at present. Their last known address was Pent y Foel, Llanhaiadr in 1901 census - they had lived here for at least 20 years as far as I can ascertain.

I have Evan's parents as being John and Sarah (don't know her maiden name) - and I beleive John built Groes chapel (sometime between 1817 - 1897).