Author Topic: marriage index query  (Read 3452 times)

Offline magicspice

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
marriage index query
« on: Saturday 18 October 08 20:26 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone,
Newbie here with a general question regarding the marriage index. I am looking for my g grandparents marriage cert. I am certain I have found the husband, he shows up in 1903, Q2, vol 11a, page 920. Cross referencing the wife, an entry exists for the same year and quarter but the volume and page reference is different. Should it be the same??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, this is the first time I have tried searching indexes.

thanks!

Offline janan

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: marriage index query
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 18 October 08 20:41 BST (UK) »
Hi

Welcome to Rootschat :D

The Volume and page number should be the same. What are their names and district you think they would have married in? I'll have a look.

Jan ;)
ALL CENSUS DATA INCLUDED IN POSTINGS IS CROWN COPYRIGHT, FROM  www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

bedfordshire - farr, carver,handley, godfrey, newell, bird, emmerton, underwood,ancell
buckinghamshire- pain
cambridgeshire- bird, carver
hertfordshire- conisbee, bean, saunders, quick,godfrey
derbyshire- allsop, noon
devon - griffin, love, rapsey
dorset- rendall, gale
somerset- rendall, churchill
surrey/middlesex - douglas, conisbee, childs, lyon groombridge

Offline magicspice

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 18 October 08 21:04 BST (UK) »
Hi Jan,
Thomas Wilkins, Pontypridd and Mary Jane Harris.

thanks
Heather

Offline Nick29

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 19 October 08 12:20 BST (UK) »
Where did you get your g. grandmother's name from ?

The possible candidates for the GRO reference given are Margaret Jane Humphries or Elizabeth Ann Bunney.
RIP 1949-10th January 2013