Author Topic: Help solve the Leicestershire Stilton Cheese mystery  (Read 10995 times)

Offline Kirwan

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help solve the Leicestershire Stilton Cheese mystery
« on: Thursday 18 December 08 00:36 GMT (UK) »
Can you please help, I'm new to this genealogy research. 

I am investigating the origins of Stilton Cheese, which was originally made in Leicestershire but sold in Stilton, Huntingdonshire (hence the name). 

One of the claims is that a housekeeper named Elizabeth Scarborough learnt to make a form of Stilton Cheese in the Great House where she was working.  She married a Mr Orton and moved to Little Dalby to live on his farm.  It is claimed that amongst her children she had two daughters, one of whom married Cooper Thornhill the Innkeeper of the Bell Inn, Stilton.  The other daughter supplied him with Stilton Cheese.  Can you help me trace these people and see if this is true or not.

The information I have so far is:

Elizabeth Scarborough was baptised on 16 Oct 1695 Lowesby and Cold Newton.  Parents John Scarborough (born 1669) and Ann (they married in 1694).

1)  What was the first name of Mr Orton of Little Dalby who she married around 1720?
2) What children did they have?

Cooper Thornhill was born in Leake (now called Old Leake) near Boston in Lincolnshire in 1705 and was baptised on 16th April 1710.  His parents were Joseph and Frances Thornhill.

Cooper married his first wife Mary, (two years his senior?) in 1730 in the parish church of Leake when he was 25.  She died in 1752, he in 1759. They are buried together in Stilton Churchyard.

3) What is the maiden name of this Mary Thornhill and is she related to Elizabeth (Orton) Scarborough from Leicestershire?

Thanks so much

Kirwan

Offline trish1120

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Happy me
    • View Profile
Re: Help solve the Leicestershire Stilton Cheese mystery