Author Topic: Jessie gardner  (Read 4782 times)

Offline jesgardner

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Jessie gardner
« on: Monday 22 December 08 16:18 GMT (UK) »
Newbie is trying to track down details of father and siblings of Jessie Gardner, believed to have been born about 1881, probably in London (maybe Islington). I believe she had a brother possibly called Tom. I think she  married ( possibly for the second time) 17th February 1912 aged 31 at St Pancras Registry Office and lived in Islip Street .
She became Beesley and subsequently Elton. I think her father's name may have been William or possibly Fred. I wonder if her brother had any children and who they are if so.
Jessie lived to the 1950s.
Please can any one help with this? I am completely new at this.

Offline Mum44

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Jessie gardner
« Reply #1 on: Monday 22 December 08 16:27 GMT (UK) »

Hello Jes   ;)

Welcome to Rootschat   ;D

We'll do our best to help  :D

You have mentioned several possible names - where did you get these possibilities from ?  Do you have any certificates  -  her marriage certificate would be a good place to start, since you appear to be sure of that.  (although reading again, you say " I think..."   :-\  )

The marriage certificate would give her father's name and his occupation, which might make it easier to pin them down in a census ;)
Census information is Crown Copyright from TNA.
Titchfield, Hampshire: Reed,  Fielder, Cawte, Goddard.
Kent:  Float,  Cutbush. 
Wallasey, Cheshire: Carroll, Ledsham.
Liverpool : Horsfall, Prescott

Offline judi2632

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 22 December 08 16:30 GMT (UK) »
This is a possible, but a marriage cert would be a great help to confirm the way forward

William F Gardener     39 Mechanical Engineer
Elizabeth Gardener    41
Amy L Gardener    15 Dress makers Assistant