Author Topic: Cecil Hatton..  (Read 2580 times)

Offline alanjohn67

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Cecil Hatton..
« on: Saturday 07 February 09 17:04 GMT (UK) »
I've looked on umpteen genealogy site's but i'm hoping someone on here will have more luck with this.
My uncle Cecil G F Hatton born in the third qtr of 1915 is the problem,noboby seem's to know anything about him.I've looked at  death's to see if he died as a child,i've looked at marriage's to try and trace him,nothing.He was born in the St.Geo H Sq district.
I'm pretty new to rootschat but you've helped crack a couple of brickwall's for me (thanks to those concerned!!)and i'm hoping for a hattrick i guess,
thanks in advance,
Alan.

Offline lizdb

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Cecil Hatton..
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 07 February 09 18:04 GMT (UK) »
What are you hoping to find about him?
It is too late for censuses, free BMD databases have faded out by the time he will marry or die....

Getting his birth cert will confirm parentage etc, but you seem already to know he is your uncle, so will know how he fits in to the family.

Suggetions could be -
Have you looked for a will for either of his parents? If he is mentioned it will confirm he was alive at time of writing, if he is an executor it will give more details of him at time of prooving
Is he a witness at any family weddings later on?
Are there any family members still alive who remember him at all, either as a child or older? or remember mention of him?
Edmonds/Edmunds - mainly Sussex
DeBoo - London
Green - Suffolk
Parker - Sussex
Kemp - Essex
Farrington - Essex
Boniface - West Sussex

census information is Crown Copyright from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline alanjohn67

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 07 February 09 18:16 GMT (UK) »