Author Topic: Additional info  (Read 3578 times)

Offline AlanET

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Additional info
« on: Tuesday 03 March 09 13:20 GMT (UK) »
Hi I am a newbie, I have just found this site. I have been tracing my family tree for a while now using Ancestry and the Familysearch web sites, and have got bakck to 18th century purely using the internet. But I now would like to add some more detailed info onto the tree, other than the std census details. Most of my family have lived in the same village for centuries and were mainly farm labourers acording to records I have seen. So I would be interested in getting more local history where possibly names and locations can be seen in books maps etc. My village is Hartshill in warwickshire. Any ideas on what more experienced geneologistics collect would nice to know.

any help / tips would be most welcome. Alan

Offline genuisscuffy

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: Additional info
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 03 March 09 15:19 GMT (UK) »
Hi, I've made scrapbooks as my children wernt interested in reams of information and added postcards as pictures for them to look at - you can find quite old ones easily on ebay for £1-2  and if you are after a certain village what about googling the village and seeing what comes up - maybe a local history society that could help or even someone local you could contact? Hope that helps  :)
Fielder (Portsmouth,Hants/Pembroke Dock, Wales)
Montague (Southsea, Hants)
Force (Portchester, Hants)

Offline newbie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 03 March 09 15:36 GMT (UK) »
If you have the census details what other details do you have, do you have the relevant, birth, marriage, death, certificates?