Author Topic: William Blair in Drumlea  (Read 3476 times)

Offline kajyann

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
William Blair in Drumlea
« on: Friday 20 March 09 01:58 GMT (UK) »
Hi,
I am trying to trace back from an ancestor of my husband. His name was William Blair, born in Drumlea, Leitrim in 1863. When he was 18 he enlisted in the British army, in Dublin. He was posted to England, where he married and remained in Staffordshire. He is my husbands G -grandfather. I am new to this and am unsure where to go to trace back in the Irish records, to find his parents etc.

Can anyone give me a hint where I should investigate?

Many thanks
kaj

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: William Blair in Drumlea
« Reply #1 on: Friday 20 March 09 11:15 GMT (UK) »
unfortunately William was born the year before Civil Registration started here...   so Parish record will be required to locate his birth/baptism details. As far as I know Leitrim is included in the Irish Family History Foundation system (www.irish-roots.ie - paysite) - which includes parish transcripts. You can check on the website to see coverage and years.

If his parents were Non-Catholic you may be able to find their marriage as those registrations started in 1845. I dont imagine that there were that many Blair marriages in Leitrim around that time...

edit :see  this link for more Leitrim data : http://www.leitrim-roscommon.com/index.shtml

Shane
Remember to check the Resource boards :  Ireland, Dublin, Antrim & Cork (and stickies at the top of other county sub-forums)    
My Surname Interests

Offline Christopher

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • 1939 - 2009
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 27 April 09 23:55 BST (UK) »
Hi,