Author Topic: Immigration help please - John Richard TAYLOR  (Read 3256 times)

Offline Debbie658

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Immigration help please - John Richard TAYLOR
« on: Tuesday 14 April 09 06:14 BST (UK) »
Hi,

Could someone please help me with finding some Immigation details?  I'm looking for my gr-grandfather's arrival to Australia.  His name was John Richard TAYLOR and he was born in Leeds, Yorkshire in 1856 and was a STONEMASON by trade.  His wife Fanny Taylor and his two daughters; Agnes and Edith, came out to Australia in 1886 and it says on her record "Meeting husband in Sydney".  The only trouble is I can't find any record of him coming out, not a year or on what ship.

It gets even more frustrating.  Apparently, he came out to Australia with his father, John TAYLOR Snr b.1832 but they both returned to England when his father became ill (can't find any record of them coming out to Australia or returning to England either).  The mystery deepens.  Anyhow, John Taylor Snr died in England in 1885 i think :-\

John Richard Taylor then came back out to Oz but i can't find him anywhere.  I really need help with this please!!!   Any information would be greatly appreciated!!!

Deb
TAYLOR - Leeds, Yorkshire
HOWMAN - Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire
HOPKINS - Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire
COOPER - Rutland, Lincolnshire
CORNALY - Paimpol, France

Offline sparrett

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Immigration help please - John Richard TAYLOR
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 14 April 09 06:33 BST (UK) »
Hi Debbie,
It would be helpful if you would post.....

1.The names of the PARENTS of the couple.

2.The source of your information re. the comings and goings.

3.The other 'events' of the daughters if known.

4.The location of the other events if known.

5.Why do you think he returned?

John Richard Taylor then came back out to Oz but i can't find him anywhere.  Debbie