Author Topic: Help with date of birth  (Read 2303 times)

Offline sandy

• RootsChat Extra
  • I've not edited my PROFILE yet
    • View Profile
Help with date of birth
« on: Wednesday 01 July 09 22:38 BST (UK) »
Hi
Hope someone can help. I have a death certificate for a chap who died on the eleventh of March 1954 and they say on the certificate his age was 66 years. Could anyone work out for me which year and which quarters he  could have been born as I am not very good at working it out, I wouldn't ask but his name is Smith and he has no middle name so I need to narrow it down as much as I can, otherwise it could be costly on birth certificates. Thank you
Sandy

Offline patrish

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Winter Wonderland
    • View Profile
Re: Help with date of birth
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 01 July 09 22:48 BST (UK) »
If his age is correct on the death certificate the birth year would be 1888.

Why dont you post his name and we can have a look, do you know where he might have been  born, or any other details .i.e his parents names or his occupation. ???
this information is Crown Copyright. from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk   London Hall, Thurston Stanley, Phillips, Ayrton, White, Morrish, Smith.    West Ham/Barking Saint,Briggs,   Essex  Barker,   Hampshire  Kill, Kent Spong,   U.S.A Earp, Scotland/Cumbria Templeton, Devon Morrish, Chudley

Offline Little Nell

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 01 July 09 22:54 BST (UK) »
If his age at death is accurate - and there is no guarantee that it is - then he was born after 11 March 1887 but before 11 March 1888.

His birth could have been registered in any quarter of 1887 or first or second quarter of 1888.  Parents were allowed 42 days to record a birth.  The first quarter of 1887 is the least likely but not impossible.  His birthday could have been in the latter part of March.  Sadly that's a lot of Smiths.