Author Topic: Lloyd family - Llandrinio  (Read 3731 times)

Offline waco kid

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Lloyd family - Llandrinio
« on: Friday 17 July 09 18:12 BST (UK) »
My ggfather and a number of his cousins were trying to prove their family link to a Robert Edwards. In doing so they were also hoping that this Robert Edwards was the "Edwards Millions" Robert.

I apologise if this topic has been through the forum before, but I am a newcomer to RootsChat.com who is finding his way around and it is all a bit strange at the moment. (I have never used a chat forum before and have never even looked at facebook!)

I have obtained a box of letters dating back to the early 1920's where my forebears are writing to every parish church they can find around the Llandrinio, Ardlleen, Llanymynerch etc. area trying to find the marriage of a James Lloyd (gggggrandfather) to a Mary Edwards. From the lists in my box I have James Lloyd born in 1773 and Mary Edwards born in 1777. I have traced them in the 1841 census, which shows James as 67yrs and Mary as 54yrs. In the 1851 census James is not there but Mary is 65yrs. This is my first conflict, as the list would mean her age should be 10yrs older. I know that the truth was not always told, but I need some tangible proof to show which fact is correct.

I have been through the parish records for Montgomeryshire on Findmypast.com and drawn a blank. It would appear that the parish records I am looking for have been destroyed. I understand that the Bishops transcripts would be another source for me. Am I correct that these are held at the National Library of Wales? If so, how would I go about checking them?

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would be gratefull. Even more so if anyone has travelled this route with the Lloyd's and Edwards' families in the 18th century. The lists show various sets of Lloyd brothers marrying Edwards sisters, e.g. Robert Lloyd m. Esther Edwards (no record of this marriage either)