Author Topic: Can't find a marriage...help please!  (Read 2623 times)

Offline tisonlymoi

• RootsChat Extra
  • I'm new to all of this so may ask daft questions!
    • View Profile
Can't find a marriage...help please!
« on: Thursday 27 August 09 18:27 BST (UK) »
Hi

Looking for marriage details for Archibald Davidson (born circa 1715) and Margaret Purves.
The first of their 7 children was born May 1774 in Coldingham (remaining children born Coldingham or Cockburnspath) so assuming they would have married before then but I can find nothing. Zilch.  Nada.

I'm looking to find parents of Archibald and Margaret but am hitting a wall - does help that there's 3 Margaret Purves born in Coldingham between 1713 and 1715. 

If anyone can help or point me in the rigth direction I would be eternally grateful 
DUMBARTON - Clocherty, Clacherty, Knox, Egan, Kelly, Cavan, McAlpine, Dougan, McQuade, McNamara, Hollern, Holleran, Reilly<br /><br />LEITH/EDINBURGH/BERWICKSHIRE - Logan, Nairn, Broomfield, Gray, Aitchison, Bird, Cummings, Murray, Johnston, Davidson, Purves<br /><br />MAYO, IRELAND - Mulloy, Molloy, Malloy<br /><br />ENGLAND - Robinson, Cave, Mullier, Parvin, McGee, Monaghan

Offline Little Nell

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Can't find a marriage...help please!
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 27 August 09 21:04 BST (UK) »
If their first child was born in 1774, then I would expect Margaret at least to have been born cir 1750.  She would have been a miracle mum otherwise - aged 60 when first child born  :o

Where did Archibald's date of birth come from?

Do the children's names help at all?  Did they follow the traditional naming pattern?

Nell
All census information: Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline tisonlymoi

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 28 August 09 09:40 BST (UK) »
Hi - you are right Nell.....think my head was that battered yesterday that I obviously wasn't looking or thinking straight.