Author Topic: etiquette and formality of photographing in cemeteries  (Read 3176 times)

Offline roofy

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
etiquette and formality of photographing in cemeteries
« on: Tuesday 22 September 09 01:29 BST (UK) »
Hi,
I am new to genealogy and to this website/forum. I am happy to photograph whole cemeteries full of gravestones and index them [ooh what a lovely thought;)] but I cant find anything on this board about etiquette/sensitivity issues, formality and legality issues regarding the photographing of gravestones and memorials.
I look forward to hearing your opinions,
Best
Roofy
Seyer [Bristol and London], Porter [Swindon and Manchester], Lawless, Wilson, Wood, Ebsworthy, Willson [not a typo, have different spellings on different sides of the family]. Also Lawler [London and Liverpool}, Bagnaro and Cavo [London and Maiori, Italy], also Engley/Englie-London, Gloucester and Bristol, Palmer [Chichester and London]. Recently added Greaves [Derbys], Handley Greaves [Derbyshire, London and Swindon]

Offline ainslie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: etiquette and formality of photographing in cemeteries
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 22 September 09 08:53 BST (UK) »
A personal view:  I know of nothing to prevent you from taking photos of memorials.  You would be doing a great service if you made your results available to the church or cemetery authority and to the local record office or main library.

As to etiquette, I think you need to think of those attending funerals or visiting graves and keep clear while they are present.  For a churchyard, you might speak to the vicar/rector or churchwarden;  for a cemetery, there  should be an office and person in charge (probably at council offices), where it might be courtesy to tell them what you are doing.