Author Topic: Illegitimate G G grandad  (Read 2535 times)

Offline Kaz1960

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Illegitimate G G grandad
« on: Sunday 13 December 09 06:23 GMT (UK) »
Hi all
I am new to RC and been having a good look around. I can see there are lots of knowledgeable people here (thank goodness !)
I would like help please to find more info on Charles Knights father if possible.
I have his birth cert dated 3 Dec 1842 registered in Hoxne. Birth in the sub district of Stradbroke in the counties of Suffolk & Norfolk. Mother is Eliza Knights (b1824 Mendham)signed with a mark, no father mentioned. She later married a William Leist on 21 April 1846 at Withersdale and had another son Samuel Leist in 1847. On 1851 and 1861 census records Charles' name is listed as Leist (this caused me no end of trouble working out he was the same man). He started using his real name on 1871 census.
I found baptism records at Rushall St Marys on 4 July 1847 for both Charles and Samuel. Charles' father is listed as being Charles Poppy. A few searches (I am not that experienced though) revealed a few Charles Poppy's living around Hoxne at the time of Charles' birth. One was married to an Elizabeth and the other may have been his father as he was somewhat older. I just read a post where it was suggested to look in bastardy records but I have no idea how to go about this? Would I look in Hoxne where Charles was born or at Ushall St Marys where he was baptised? I would just like to find out the story behind his birth. (curious)
Thanks in advance
Kaz
My emails are not working sorry.
Hunt/Clark/Procter/Firth/Harding/Birtwistle/Ashton/Cobley/Knights/Booth/Crook

Offline tedscout

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Illegitimate G G grandad
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 13 December 09 07:11 GMT (UK) »
Hi Kaz,