Author Topic: Using Tribalpages.. wondering if there is comething better.  (Read 985 times)

Offline mckenzieclan

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Using Tribalpages.. wondering if there is comething better.
« on: Tuesday 12 January 10 19:19 GMT (UK) »
So far I have been satisfied with Tribalpages, but was wondering what the consensus was out there for on-line family tree hosting services..

The one issue I have is hosting document sources as photos kind of leaves me wanting...

Maybe I am missing something...

What are everyone's thoughts?

Thanks,

Scott

Offline DBHTwigs

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Using Tribalpages.. wondering if there is comething better.
« Reply #1 on: Monday 04 March 24 17:35 GMT (UK) »
I've been using TribalPages for about 20 years and have loved it. It provide me with a secure, very professional looking website and I too have been very satisfied.

Am getting less satisfied however...

1. I'm worried that the whole site is going belly-up. Support seems virtually non-existent. They don't respond to forum messages, emails, Twitter tweets, Facebook posts... I don't understand why they would develop such a superb product and then more or less abandon it... other than to collect renewal subs!!!

2. I don't have any problem with photos or documents. The photo albums are great.

3. I keep my main data on Family Historian and used to upload an updated gedcom to TP frequently, which worked seamlessly.  The last time I tried it wiped my whole TP tree... (not sure whether it was a TP or FH problem.) TP Support did help and were able to restore my tree on that occasion - but, several years later, I haven't had the courage to try again, especially as Supports seems to have disappeared.