Author Topic: Installing WinXP on new Win7 laptop?  (Read 15334 times)

Offline charlotteCH

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Genealogy's worth chatting about.
    • View Profile
Installing WinXP on new Win7 laptop?
« on: Monday 25 January 10 06:44 GMT (UK) »
My new Dell Studio XPS 16[ 4GB Ram; 500GB HD] has Win7 preinstalled. From my terminally ill Win XP pc  I've transfered my data  satisfactorily and installed FTM2010 because FTM2006 is not Win7 compatible.
However Win7 has not much appeal to me & as well as this, there are  2 specific reasons I want to go back to WinXP:- I could use my FTM2006 which is far better than FTM2010  [FTM  2010 is a lemon]  and also I could continue using Outlook Express where all my family history emails are categorized . FYI Win 7 has no email program as part of it.

In trying to do this would I be asking for trouble?  I'm not a techie.  If it's feasible, how would I go about this please?

From my old pc I have various  CDs including:- ... Reinstallation Microsoft WindowsXP Home Edition including Service Pack 1a, Win XP Service Pack 2,  Dell Dimension Resource CD-Drivers,Diagnostics, Computer Documentation.

Comments, guidance, help very much appreciated ;D
Thank you,
charlotte

Offline Guy Etchells

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Installing WinXP on new Win7 laptop?
« Reply #1 on: Monday 25 January 10 07:39 GMT (UK) »
My new Dell Studio XPS 16[ 4GB Ram; 500GB HD] has Win7 preinstalled. From my terminally ill Win XP pc  I've transfered my data  satisfactorily and installed FTM2010 because FTM2006 is not Win7 compatible.
However Win7 has not much appeal to me & as well as this, there are  2 specific reasons I want to go back to WinXP:- I could use my FTM2006 which is far better than FTM2010  [FTM  2010 is a lemon]  and also I could continue using Outlook Express where all my family history emails are categorized . FYI Win 7 has no email program as part of it.