Author Topic: USA Death cert  (Read 1090 times)

Offline ckearnes

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
USA Death cert
« on: Friday 29 January 10 12:55 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

I'm new at this genealogy stuff and I'm trying to find a death certificate for an Ernest Clark, possibly in New Jersey, who died in 1947 approx 69 yrs of age. Married to Myrtle nee Johnson. Ernest Clark is my great grandfather and he remarried apparently in America but I'm unable to find divorce papers for him and my g grandmother in England or Australia and her Aus death cert says shes a widow and he is her spouse. But anyway, back on track, if anyone could help me that would be great. Thanks.

Charlene

Offline shellyesq

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: USA Death cert
« Reply #1 on: Friday 29 January 10 13:38 GMT (UK) »
New Jersey death records from that time period are not available online.  There's information on ordering them here:  http://www.state.nj.us/health/vital/gen.shtml

In case you need it, I found Ernest & Myrtle in West Orange, New Jersey on the 1930 Census. 

Offline ckearnes

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 29 January 10 17:53 GMT (UK) »
Thanks. Is there anyway to find out information such as the record number like you would with UK cert? I'm not sure if he died in New Jersey, he seemed to move around so is there a website you could recommend where I could search?

Offline J.A.M.

• RootsChat Senior
  • Pte. Alexander McCalmont C.E.F. 1916
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Friday 29 January 10 18:13 GMT (UK) »
Hi Charlene,

It would be a lot of work as there are over 500 Ernest Clark's listed but you could try the U.S. Social Security Death Index.

http://ssdi.rootsweb.ancestry.com/

Good hunting.

J.A.M.
Islandmagee, County Antrim, Ireland

Offline shellyesq

• RootsChat Marquessate