Author Topic: Family Secret - Turnbull/Kelly Gateshead  (Read 4517 times)

Offline Luckyme

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Family Secret - Turnbull/Kelly Gateshead
« on: Wednesday 10 March 10 22:30 GMT (UK) »
Hi. I'm new to this so I hope I'm posting in the correct area...

I'm trying to trace my father's side of the family (Turnbulls and Kellys). My Grandmother was Annie Eileen (Nancy) Turnbull, nee Kelly. She died in 2007. Her mother and father were Margaret Mcdonald and Patrick Kelly who I believe came from County Derry.  Before my Grandmother died, I told her that I wanted to trace my family tree and she went beserk! She was shouting down the phone that she wanted nothing to do with it and that I was stupid for contemplating doing it... she made it quite clear that she wasn't happy and wouldn't give me any help or information.

It's made me all the more curious! I have a feeling that it's something to do with an adopted child or maybe, a divorce or something. I know it doesn't sound that exciting today, but my Grandmother was born in 1913 and was a Roman Catholic, so it would've been quite a scandal if I'm right.

There's certainly something that she wanted kept secret. I would appreciate any ideas about what it may have been and if anyone has any suggestions about what to do next.

Thanks.

Offline gortonboy

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Gorton
    • View Profile
Re: Family Secret - Turnbull/Kelly Gateshead
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 10 March 10 22:41 GMT (UK) »
hi,,i guess you could just try and find everything you can,and see what clues you may get.....do you have any facts/documents?  do you know years of birth for patrick and margaret. do you have any birth/marriage certificates.....were patrick and margaretmarried in england.  you need a starting point to enable you to get back to the census records....or you need birth/marriage certs

could this be patricks marriage reference?