Author Topic: Photo of unknown soldiers  (Read 3194 times)

Offline Larby

• RootsChat Extra
  • Ben - age 13 and gorgeous
    • View Profile
Photo of unknown soldiers
« on: Thursday 15 July 10 22:50 BST (UK) »
I'm new to RootsChat and have already put this photo on the "Recognition" board, but now I have found the Armed Forces topics I am posting it again.

I think my grand uncle may be one of the soldiers in this picture.  He was in France with the London Regiment until Jul 1917, when he returned to England for officer training at Oxford.  After being commissioned he returned to France in December 1917 and was killed in action on 2 June 1918.  Can anyone shed any light on the uniforms in the picture or even recognise the building - a long shot, I know.
Boggis in Suffolk, Istead, Downes in Shropshire, Bricknell in Warwickshire, Mason in Little Dunmow Essex, Nuttall in Farnworth Lancs

Offline PaulineJ

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Photo of unknown soldiers
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 15 July 10 23:01 BST (UK) »
Door & window style looks more mainlaind Europe than England.

Pauline
All census look up transcriptions are Crown Copyright http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
======================================
We are not a search engine. We are human beings.

Offline forester

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 16 July 10 12:47 BST (UK) »
Hello Larby,

Have you got a name and pre-officer servicer number, battalion etc for him?

I notice there is a publishers ID on the bottom left of the postcard. Could you tell us who it is.

A high definition scan of a cap badge would help as well.

Phil
Sussex: Satcher (Hamsey) and Gatton (East Grinstead)
Leicestershire: Pratt
South Wales: Evans (Neath)
Poland: Gonet, Deren

Forest Row: War Memorial and Camp WW1
Lewisham War Memorials & WW1 Graves

Census information is Crown Copyright  http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Larby

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile