Author Topic: Charlestown query  (Read 4037 times)

Offline Lizzy

• RootsChat Extra
  • Older but not wise enough
    • View Profile
Charlestown query
« on: Saturday 02 April 05 11:42 BST (UK) »
The 1901 Wigan census says my husbands ancestors VEASEY came from Charlestown, Meath.  Up until this census I had only Ireland down.  But the problem is I can only find references for Charlestown in Mayo.  This board says Charlestown is in Louth.  I am now confused.  I am new to IRISH geneology and have no idea how to begin.   I am beginning to wonder if the person who wrote the census put Meath as a mistake because the neighbours were from Meath.  I don't think I can wait until 2011 to see if the next census is any clearer.  I am eager to move along now.  I need all the help anyone can provide about Irish research.  I even need help on how to move around on this site.  Lizzy
Adamson from M/C
Carter from Warrington
Davies from Dudley and Pemberton
Townsend from Ruislip and Lowton
Boyers from Rainford and Upholland
Urmston from Lowton
Unsworth from Golborne
Leyland, Hill, Mason, Hyland and Clarke from Wigan
Parkes from Sedgley
Hampson from Upholland
Veasey from somewhere in Ireland

Offline Christopher

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • 1939 - 2009
    • View Profile
Re: Charlestown query
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 02 April 05 17:48 BST (UK) »
Hello Lizzy,

http://www.thecore.com/seanruad/ - 12k IreAtlas Townland search shows Charlestown as being in Co. Louth. Meath and Louth are neighbouring counties. Whilst I do not exactly where it is situated in the county I would be inclined not to worry too much over this point.