Author Topic: John Darragh, Dyer, Alderman, Lord mayor of Dublin 1781 also George Newton  (Read 9946 times)

Offline Pastmagic

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Levington House, Mullingar
    • View Profile
looking for any info re the above. owned two properties, 11, Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin, and Darraghville, Kilcoole, Co. Wicklow. Have details of his political career. He was a Dyer by trade. married Mary Newton c. 1750. He had one daughter, Susanna Newton, who married Dudley Hussey, Recorder of the City of Dublin. No granchildren, so Darrgaville passed on to the newton family - successively George Newton, George Newton, and finally Walter Crofton Newton of 24 Royal terrace kingston, who sold it in 1897. interested to know more about these Newtons, particularly occupations.

Thanks! PM

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: John Darragh, Dyer, Alderman, Lord mayor of Dublin 1781 also George Newton
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 19 August 10 13:41 BST (UK) »
A few entries for the address you mentioned in Kingstown/Dún Laoghaire from Thom's  directories :

1894 Royal terrace, West  (off Corrig Rd)

24  Mrs. Newton
 (also)  Walter Newton esq.  (esquire - so no occupation listed)

In Kingstown there's also a Royal Terrace North, and East listed.

In '84 at the same address there is :

24  W.C.D Newton esq

and in 1880 :

24 Mrs Burdett

I see no sign of Walter on the 1901 census, and based on the BMD index it looks like he died in the area in 1899 :

Name: Walter C D Newton
 Registration District: Rathdown
 Event Type: Death
 Quarter and Year: Jul - Sep 1899
 Age (at Death): 49     (est. year of birth : 1850)
 volume : 2 / page : 690

A death cert should give his occupation. See :

Ordering Certs from GRO Roscommon
 Details included on a Death Cert
 Introduction to Irish Records

Shane