Author Topic: McDOUGALL  (Read 2721 times)

Offline Pam at Valetta

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
McDOUGALL
« on: Monday 20 September 10 04:56 BST (UK) »
William McDOUGALL was married to Frances MANN in Westminster in 1820 and had a son soon afterwards who was baptised in 1828 in London. I have no other knowledge about him so cannot locate his parents or his birthplace. Does anyone have any7knowledge of him. His son was John William George McDOUGALL whom I have been able to research forward to his family in N.Z. Pam at Valetta.

Offline Valda

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: McDOUGALL
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 25 September 10 12:35 BST (UK) »
Hi

16th November 1828 Christ Church, Spitalfields born 15th November 1821 ?
John William George Macdougall parents  William and Frances, ? Street, father's occupation soldier

11th April 1847 St Leonard Shoreditch
John William George McDougall Full Bachelor Labourer Batemans Row William McDougall Baker
Mary Haywood  Full Spinster Batemans Row Joseph Haywood Smith
Both signed
Witnesses Henry Pike and Louisa Ba?mkay

The absence of the word deceased for fathers doesn't necessarily mean they were not at the time of the marriage since it was merely the custom of practice of some officials to add this information, but by no means all.

Christ Church, Spitalfields 19th December 1821
Francis Mcdougall aged 28 Wilkes Street

1871 census RG10 1382 folio 132
Leavensden Asylum Watford, Hertfordshire
John William George McDougall  49 Patient No occupation at present Not known Unsound mind

Deaths Jun 1886   McDOUGALL  John William G  64  Dartford  2a 251

If his death was registered in Dartford registration district he may very well have been transfered to Darenth Asylum.
Asylum medical records can often refer to family members since Victorian doctors believed mental illness might be in some way hereditary or caused by dissolute lifestyles etc.