Author Topic: Durham Militia - 1st Royal Veteran Bat. 1780's -1809  (Read 14502 times)

Offline Bhx7

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Durham Militia - 1st Royal Veteran Bat. 1780's -1809
« on: Friday 08 October 10 18:20 BST (UK) »
Hi All

I am brand new to military research and am wondering if any of you knowledgeable people would be able to help me. A few of my ancestors served in the Durham Militia. One served as a Sergeant and retired as a Corporal in 1809 in Gibraltar after serving 23 yrs 6 mths. His service included serving with the Prince of Wales Dragoons and the last 7 years with the 1st R V Bat.

My curiosity is how would I find out what he did during these years and also I would love to know what his Uniforms would have looked like. On the bottom of his release papers it states that he was no longer fit for duty - York Hospital 2 Oct 1809 and was discharged the same day. Would this indicate injuries during some conflict?

Any information would be gratefully received.

Thanks to all in advance

Regards
Brian

Offline junev

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Durham Militia - 1st Royal Veteran Bat. 1780's -1809
« Reply #1 on: Friday 08 October 10 19:08 BST (UK) »
Hi,

The National Archives may have Muster Rolls which will give you his location during his service and record things such as when they were ill etc. I have some and I wonder how he survived as around him after a battle his colleagues are listed as injured or dead.

Junev

Offline Peter J

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 08 October 10 19:54 BST (UK) »
Hello Brian,

Have you tried the Durham Light Infantry Museum?...

http://county.durham.gov.uk/sites/dli/Pages/History.aspx

There are quite a few websites dedicated to the regiment including volunteer battalions. A quick 'Google' will connect you to what is available.

Here, is another...

http://www.lightinfantry.me.uk/dli.htm