Author Topic: Jerusalem Chapel, Ton Pentre  (Read 3358 times)

Offline Abersleuth

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Jerusalem Chapel, Ton Pentre
« on: Thursday 21 October 10 00:25 BST (UK) »
Hello Everybody

I am new to Roots Chat. I have been researching my husband's family history for some time and only just discovered this website - amazing! 
I am researching his Grandfather, John David Jones and his father David Jones who were members of Jerusalem Chapel from 1884.  They were coal miners - but I don't know where they worked or lived. David Jones died around 1886, leaving John David an orphan, aged about 17. He was rescued by two elders of Jerusalem Chapel and went on to study at Trefecca and became a Calvinistic Methodist minister.  I have found a history of Jerusalem Chapel, in Welsh - unfortunately I don't speak or read Welsh, but have friends who translated crucial bits. The history (written in 1967 to celebrate the chapel's centenary) includes photographs of C M ministers who started as members of Jerusalem Chapel. It includes a photograph of John David (known as J D Jones) which was a wonderful discovery.  If anyone has other information about Jerusalem Chapel in the period 1884-1891 I would love to hear from you.

Abersleuth  :)

Offline cardiff

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Jerusalem Chapel, Ton Pentre
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 21 October 10 15:01 BST (UK) »
Hi
welcome to Rootschatter  :D
Do you have David Jones  marriage certificate or death certificate to confirm his actual age. Do you know when he went to study to be a minister have you tried to find him on a census?
With a name like jones the more basic info you have the better
cheers cardiff  ???
All CensusTranscriptions are Crown Copyright

Read Wiltshire /Pontypridd
Dove Lincolnshire/Pontypridd/Cardiff
Barnhouse Cardiff/Pontypridd
Wilkes Shropshire/ Staffordshire/ Rhondda
Fletchers Staffordshire/ Glamorgan