Author Topic: Elizabeth Griffiths, b Jersey c.1826  (Read 13724 times)

Offline Maggie1895

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Elizabeth Griffiths, b Jersey c.1826
« on: Tuesday 04 January 11 21:57 GMT (UK) »
I'm a total beginner at searching the Channel Islands and if anyone has any ideas around this they'd be gratefully received.   This is what I have on this lady so far:

Elizabeth Griffiths (spelt Griffith just once but otherwise with the 's') gives her birthplace as Jersey in all later records.  Approx year 1826.
1851 census: Very very strong possibility.   Living at 73 London Road, Liverpool, single, a Milliner, age 26, born Jersey
1860 Marriage to George Whitehead, Ormskirk, Lancashire.  Q4, Vol 8b, P 930.
1861 census: The newlyweds are living at 127 Lord Street, Southport, where George is a Jeweller.  Elizabeth gives her age as 34, born Jersey.  Sometime around 1866, George dies.
1871 census: Elizabeth is widowed and living at 169 Lord Street with her 9 year old son, Thomas.  Elizabeth seems to be carrying on the business herself as she is described as a Jeweller, and gives her age as 45.

By the 1881 census Thomas is living with his Uncle and I can't find Elizabeth.  There are several possible deaths in Lancashire between 1871 and 1881 that might be her, and that's work in progress.

This post is a bit of a cheek because if I realise if I sent for their wedding certificate that might give me her father's name.   Like so many, I'm trying to limit the amount of certificates I buy at present but do appreciate there may be no other option.   I've tried Lancashire on line Parish Clerks but it doesn't look as if they married in any of the Parish Churches in the area, and nothing comes up in the Free sites (like Family Search pilot) that gives me any further detail.